in memory of daddy

My dad passed away this week and I thought I would share this. I would like to thank everyone for all their kind words and thoughts.

We had been working on a father -daughter project for over a year. I was writing the stories and he was helping me with the photoshopped illustrations. We were having a lot of fun. But as the summer went on my father started to look more and more fragile and our project was becoming a race against the clock. I started to write more stories thinking that I could prolong our fun and keep my dad healthy but by New Year’s it was clear: my father was becoming  very ill. And then began the first of his hospital visits in what was then the start of a quick decline. My daddy passed away this week. It is a very hard thing to think about or even come to terms with. I still see him out of the corner of my eye. The family has such wonderful memories of him and that is what we think about. I was so very lucky to have a dad for as long as I did. The other night I turned on TCM and there were his two favorite movies. (A coincidence. . I wonder) The Four Feathers and The Third Man. And we watched them both until the wee hours of the morning. I looked at the movies through his eyes. . . the music (the zither in the Third Man) Orson Welles and the cuckoo clock and the all the camera angles. And I smiled thinking about my Dad and knowing as tremendously as we miss him. . . . He will always be with us.

I love you Dad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

